Browsing articles in "Reference"

Restore Snapshot

Aug 3, 2016   //   by Michael Fielding   //   Reference  //  Comments Off on Restore Snapshot

Restoring a Snapshot allows you to go back to a previous state of your Portfolio, for example if you accidentally deleted some Actions or Documents.

Restore Snapshot page

The Restore Snapshot page allows you to create a new Portfolio using the Snapshot you chose from the Snapshots table.

Provide a Name and a Description for the new Portfolio which will be created, then press the Restore button.

The new Portfolio will be created in the background – you will see it on your Portfolio Overview page, but you won’t be able to navigate into it until the Restore is completed. You could use the Columns button above the Manage Portfolios table to make the Status column visible.

In the unlikely event that the Portfolio doesn’t appear in the Portfolio Overview, or disappears, then there was a problem Restoring it – please contact support to resolve it.

Costs

The restored Portfolio will be a completely new, independent, Portfolio under your name and on the same subscription plan as the Portfolio is now – and therefore will incur charges if the existing Portfolio does.

You should therefore decide whether you want to keep the original or the restored Portfolio, make any changes/corrections in the Portfolio you want to keep, and then delete the other one. (Any Snapshots in the Portfolio you delete will also be deleted – you may want to download them to your own computer first.)

While you may be charged immediately for the new (restored) Portfolio, when you delete a Portfolio any unused billing period is credited back to reduce your next invoice. This means that you’re effectively only charged extra for the time when both Portfolios are in use.

Delete the Portfolio you don’t want to keep as soon as possible, to minimise any extra charges from maintaining two Portfolios.

Restoring from downloaded Snapshots

Contact support if you want to restore a Portfolio from a Snapshot you’ve downloaded and saved yourself.

Documents

Aug 4, 2015   //   by Michael Fielding   //   Reference  //  Comments Off on Documents

You can easily attach Documents to a Family, Right, Action or Note, by simply dragging them from your local computer onto the relevant record in a table.

Read more >>

Calendars

Nov 6, 2014   //   by Michael Fielding   //   Reference  //  Comments Off on Calendars

The Settings -> Calendars page within a Portfolio allows you to obtain links to Calanders of Actions in a particular Portfolio. There are different links available which display all the Actions, only the Incomplete ones, or only the Closed ones.

Read more >>

Reminders

Jun 22, 2014   //   by Michael Fielding   //   Reference  //  Comments Off on Reminders

This article explains how the Hawk IP Dashboard email reminder feature works and how you can adjust your personal email reminder settings for each Portfolio.

Read more >>

Patent Number Lookup

May 14, 2012   //   by Michael Fielding   //   Reference  //  Comments Off on Patent Number Lookup

This article explains how to correctly enter Patent numbers into the Dashboard for searching and importing Patent data.

Read more >>

Table Views

May 1, 2012   //   by Michael Fielding   //   Reference  //  Comments Off on Table Views

Views are saved setups for viewing tables. You can customize table columns and rows to show what you want, then save a View so that you can load it later. This article explains how.

Read more >>

Sharing

May 1, 2012   //   by Michael Fielding   //   Reference  //  Comments Off on Sharing

Portfolios can be shared with other users, so that they can view the Portfolio or collaborate with you.

Read more >>

Tag Settings

May 1, 2012   //   by Michael Fielding   //   Reference  //  Comments Off on Tag Settings

The Tag Settings page (Settings -> Tags) is were you can change what Tag Types a Portfolio has, and manage its Tags.

Read more >>

Snapshots

May 1, 2012   //   by Michael Fielding   //   Reference  //  Comments Off on Snapshots

The Snapshots page (Settings -> Snapshots) allows you to create, delete, restore and download Snapshots of your Portfolio.

Not every Portfolio subscription plan allows Snapshots – you may need to upgrade your subscription to make Snapshots. Only Portfolio Editors and Administrators can view, create or download Snapshots.

Snapshots

Snapshots are a point-in-time backup of your Portfolio. They contain:

  • Families, Rights, Actions, Notes
  • Documents
  • Tags
  • Sharing settings (i.e. which Users can access the Portfolio)

It is possible for Portfolio Administrators to restore a Portfolio from a Snapshot, or for you to use the data for another purpose.

Creating Snapshots

Press the Add button above the table and the creation of a Snapshot will be queued. It can several minutes to create a snapshot, and can take half an hour or more if there are large numbers of documents stored.

NEVER edit or allow others to edit your Portfolio while the Snapshot is being taken. Doing so will create an inconsistent Snapshot.

The table will automatically refresh periodically, so you can see when the snapshot status changes from Started to Completed.

You can edit your own Description of the Snapshot in the Description column:

Downloading Snapshots

Click on the link in the left-most column to download your Snapshot when it’s completed:

The Snapshot is a ZIP file containing CSV (spreadsheet) files- the format is explained in the FAQ.

Deleting Snapshots

Select one or more Snapshots in the table and press the Delete button above the table.

Restoring Snapshots

Click the dropdown row menu on the Snapshot you want to restore, and choose Restore to new Portfolio….

If you have sufficient access rights to the Portfolio you will be taken to the Restore Snapshot page.

 

Editing Fields

May 1, 2012   //   by Michael Fielding   //   Reference  //  Comments Off on Editing Fields

This article explains how to edit table cells (data fields) in the Dashboard.

Read more >>

Pages:123»

Support Categories